404 About us – CCUL


The Cardiovascular Center of the University of Lisbon (CCUL) aims to promote innovation and excellence in cardiovascular sciences. It is located at Faculty of Medicine, University of Lisbon, in the campus of Santa Maria Hospital and integrated in the Lisbon Academic Medical Center. CCUL’s mission is to contribute for an understanding of the cardio vascular system through interdisciplinary research, to translate this knowledge into clinical practice to improve patient outcome, care and quality of life, and to ensure a robust organization, promoting innovation and leadership in the training of the next generation of cardiovascular scientists and physicians. Our current strengths are a top highly skilled CV clinical academic and basic  team in Portugal. The Unit includes around 80 investigators, of which 27 are holders of a PhD degree, covering the different areas from basic (Angiogenesis, Physiology, Genetics, Epidemiology, Cell biology) to clinical sciences (Cardiology, Internal Medicine, Vascular Biology and Cardiovascular Imaging) devoted to research in the pathophysiology, diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and public health burden of cardiovascular diseases. CCUL is also committed to engage with the public, offer services and advice for patients and organizations working in health.


Fausto J. Pinto

Fausto J. Pinto

Director of CCUL

Prof. Pinto graduated at Lisbon University Medical School in 1984. He did his Cardiology internship at Santa Maria University Hospital – CHLN, E.P.E. (Lisbon, Portugal), and Stanford University Medical School (CA, USA), where he was a Research Fellow and then Clinical Attending in the Echocardiography laboratory. He was also awarded with an Interventional Cardiology Fellowship at the same institution.
He is currently Dean of the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Lisbon (Lisbon, Portugal), and Full Professor of Cardiology. He was also President of the Association for Research and Development of the Faculty of Medicine (AIDFM).

He is currently the Head of the Cardiology Department of Santa Maria University Hospital, CHLN E.P.E. He is also the Director of Lisbon Cardiovascular Institute (ICVL) since 1999.

He was the President and founder of the European Association of Echocardiography (2002-04), a registered branch of the European Society of Cardiology (ESC). He was the chairman of the CPC (Congress Program Committee) of ESC (2008-10), then became President-Elected of ESC (2012-14) and is currently the President of the European Society of Cardiology until 2016.

He is a Fellow of the European Society of Cardiology (FESC), American College of Cardiology (FACC), American Society of Angiology (FASA), Society for Cardiac Angiography and Interventions (FSCAI) and the American Society of Echocardiography (FASE).

He is the Editor in Chief of the Portuguese Journal of Cardiology (1999-2015), member of the Editorial of Board of several international peer-reviewed journals and is an Expert Reviewer for the European Commission. Prof. Pinto has published over 300 papers and has presented over 1300 lectures/chairmanships at national and mostly international meetings.

Website: www.faustopinto.com
E-mail: faustopinto@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Ana G. Almeida

Ana G. Almeida


Ana G. Almeida graduated In Medicine from the Faculty of Medicine of Lisbon University (FMUL). She obtained her PhD in Medicine/Cardiology at the FMUL (2001). Her present position is Associated Professor (2005) with Aggregation (2010). She is a Senior Consultant of Cardiology at the Hospital Santa Maria/CHLN and the Chair of Echocardiography, CMR/CT and the Chair of the Valve Heart Clinic. She is the Scientific Secretary of CCUL. She is a Fellow and the Co-chair of the CMR Certification Board, European Society of Cardiology, and the Chair of the WG Nuclear Cardiology, CMR/CT, Portuguese Society of Cardiology.

E-mail: anagalmeida@gmail.com

Inês Zimbarra Cabrita

Inês Zimbarra Cabrita

Scientific advisor

Inês graduated in the Lisbon School of Health Technology, where she obtained her Cardiopneumology BSc (Honours) degree. In 2005 she moved during the next 5 years, to Imperial College London where she attended the Master of Science on Medical Imaging Ultrasound at the Faculty of Medicine (2006), and later she obtained her PhD at Imperial College under the supervision of Dr. J. Simon Giibs, Professor Petros Nihoyannopolous and Professor Fausto Pinto.
Inês is currently the Coordinator of the Cardiovascular Research Support Department (GAIC), at AIDFM, since February 2012. Her role incorporates the Coordination of the Cardiovascular Research of CCUL and the department support in the management of clinical trials and implementation of Investigator-initiated research studies, on the assembling of National or International research funding proposals and regulatory submissions.

Email: inescabrita@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Email:: gaic@fm.ul.pt (Geral)

Fátima Casaca

Fátima Casaca


Fatima Casaca works for CCUL as administrative assistant since 1997. She graduated at 2006 at Lisbon Institute of Engineering. She gives support at financial and administrative areas to researchers of CCUL. She also works at the Association for the Research and the Development of the Faculty and she is PA for Prof. Pinto

E-mail: mfaticae@fm.ul.pt




Hospital Ramón y Cajal, Madrid, Spain

José Luis Zamorano is head of the Cardiovascular Department at the Hospital Ramón y Cajal, Madrid, Spain. He is also Professor of Medicine at the University Complutense in Madrid and Director of the Cardiovascular Imaging Unit at the University Clinic San Carlos, Madrid.

Website: lzamorano.com/



University of Liège Hospital Center, Liège, Belgium

Patricio Lancellotti is head of the intensive care cardiology unit at the University of Liège Hospital Center and Professor of clinical Medicine at the University of Liège.

Website: Patrizio Lancellotti

The Financial assistance of CCUL is assured by Associação para Investigação e Desenvolvimento from the Faculty of Medicine (AIDFM), University of Lisbon.

 The scientific activity is organized according to Research Lines, incorporating Research Groups, with scientific leaders and researchers. The group leaders are evaluated annually by an External Advisory Board.